COMMUNITY FORUM

novadog

01:36PM | 05/09/12
Member Since: 05/09/12
2 lifetime posts
Bvelectrical
I am in the process of buying a completely renovated house that has "all new electric".
When the inspector removed the front plate from the electric panel there was clear damage to the exposed part of the bus.
I was told that during installation a ground wire touched the live bus and caused an electrical arc and damage.
We asked to have the panel or just the bus replaced.
We were informed that the electrician tested every component and there should be no problem.
Although the open connectors on the bus look discolored and somewhat uneven they should accept an expansion breaker.
Does anyone have an opinion on whether this could be legit?
Bus

LarryG

06:55AM | 05/10/12
Member Since: 07/22/04
525 lifetime posts
It makes you wonder what other surprizes there are that the inspector can't see. Nothing was said until he took that cover off right? Anyway bottom line is the box is compromised and should be replaced to be right.

andrew10

03:54AM | 05/16/12
Member Since: 05/11/12
2 lifetime posts
These electrical inspection suggestions are not a complete inventory of all electrical safety procedures nor of all electrical components that should be inspected; these notes focus on identification of conditions that may present special electrical hazards for the electrical inspector.
Power Tools Shop

novadog

07:02AM | 05/16/12
Member Since: 05/09/12
2 lifetime posts
LarryG thanks for your response. It should be replaced (at least the bus). We asked for this which was agreed to - but the electrician pushed back saying he tested it and it was ok.

I would like the opinion of an electrician as to whether this could be acceptable.
Perhaps the components are compromised but still working OK and will still fail properly. I wish I knew.

Click_to_reply_button
Inspiration_banner

INSPIRATION GALLERY



Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply_choose_button

captcha
type the code from the image

Anonymous

Post_new_button or Login_button
Register

The industrial look—once limited to downtown lofts—has permeated traditional décor of late. If you want to try this trendy... Reused steel windows create an eye-catching splashguard in this walk-in shower. The vintage factory windows bring an inter... A galvanized steel tub is a surprising but charming fixture in this bright and breezy screened patio. It's perfect for was... If you're not crazy about the idea of commingling plants and pool, this modern variation may be more to your liking. The s... Even earthbound, this stunning, colorful egg chair would be an eye-catching accent for any room. Suspended off the ground,... If you lack plumbing skills but have a good sturdy tree, here's the easiest outdoor shower solution of all: Simply attach... Need a window and a door in a tight space? A Dutch door with a window may be your answer. These useful doors are split hor... How do you like this smart use for an old bottle? Clamp an empty wine bottle to a fence or wall near your outdoor deck or ... Simple and striking, a couple of pieces of "lovingly used" furniture creates a special kind of charm. A weathered chair fo... Twine lanterns add pops of crafty—but sophisticated—flair to any outdoor setting. Wrap glue-soaked twine around a balloon ... When securely fastened to a tree or the ceiling of a porch, a pallet and some cushioning make the ideal place to lounge. V... Incorporate nature into your lighting scheme by securing a dead tree in a concrete mold and draping your pendant lamp from... For the cost of a can of exterior paint , you can totally transform your porch. Paint the floor a hue that complements yo... Chalkboard labels are available for sale. You can also apply chalkboard paint to pretty much any surface to create your ow... This garden shed has been decked out to the nines. Designer Orla Kiely created the intimate home for a flower trade show, ...
Follow_banner_a
Newsletter_icon Google_plus Facebook Twitter Pinterest Youtube Rss_icon
 
webapp1