COMMUNITY FORUM

rudysmom

07:50PM | 09/17/04
Member Since: 09/16/04
1 lifetime posts
Bvwindows
I am wondering if anyone has any opinions about these doors that come with mini blinds in between the glass? What is the possibility of them breaking or getting damaged by the sun, heat or continuous use?

I haven't been able to find any reviews about them other than by the manufacturer (Pella), that are unbiased. Thanks!

Piffin

07:40PM | 09/22/04
Member Since: 11/06/02
1281 lifetime posts
My opinion is biased as well, from several bad experiences with Pella. They seem to focus more on offereing consumer 'toys' like the miniblinds, than on high quality door and window units. They do work hard to replace poor quality stuff in the first year or two, but I have heard way too manystories of them ignoring customers from bygine years who have problems with their products.

If you dont need the blinds, Marvin, Andersen, and Kolbe Kolbe all have better units available, though not all as inexpensive.

Excellence is its own reward!


kcjaars

12:44AM | 05/11/05
Member Since: 05/10/05
4 lifetime posts
I have over 25 pella casement windows here in wisconsin and the only problem I have ever had was with the blind actuator stripping its gears. They have never failed to take care of my concerns. i began installing them almost 25 years ago and my wife loves them. You do have to follow their installation instructions to the "T" otherwise you will have problems. An ounce of prevention... Well thats my 2 cents.

BV002705

07:25PM | 12/02/13
the strings controlling the lift/tilt functions of our in-between glass blinds are broken and Pella will not repair them. we were told replacement blinds are $500 for each patio door!

BV004992

12:01PM | 07/15/14
We paid top dollar for a steel exterior clad, wood interior Pella Sliding glass door with miniblinds between glass.

9 years in and no real problems with the blinds, BUT the whole thing has to be replaced because the steel exterior did not prevent water from getting into the bottom edge of the door which has now completely rotted out! The door has southern exposure and is the most protected (weatherwise) side of the house.

Beware!
Click_to_reply_button
Inspiration_banner

INSPIRATION GALLERY



Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply_choose_button

Anonymous

Post_new_button or Login_button
Register

If you're interested in more on snow removal, consider: Shopping for Snow Blowers Salt vs. Sand Quick Tip: Buying... Filling an underutilized area beneath the stairs is a smart way to save space. Doing so with a stash of wood, however, is ... The Audubon Society inspired wallpaper in this Adirondack-styled entryway will get you in the outdoor mood. Grab your coat... Chalkboard paint opens up endless possibilities for customizing your dresser time and time again. Use chalk to label the c... A fireplace in the bathroom creates the ultimate setting for relaxation. Homeowners often choose electric or gas over wood... This roomy boot tray made from punched metal stands up to all the elements. Station it in your mudroom or at your back doo... There’s nothing like a new set of cabinet hardware to refresh a room. The possibilities are endless: Go modern, rustic, or... FLOR carpet tiles are a simple and affordable way to customize a floor covering for any space. You can make anything from ... Chalkboard paint features prominently in this elegant yet unpretentious headboard design. Add a new message daily to reflec... Salvaged boards in varying widths and colors make up the dramatic accent wall in this attic space. The high-gloss white of... The indecisive homeowner need not fret over choosing one (or even two) cabinet colors. The kitchen cabinets in this artist... Incorporate nature into your lighting scheme by securing a dead tree in a concrete mold and draping your pendant lamp from... Simple and striking, a couple of pieces of "lovingly used" furniture creates a special kind of charm. A weathered chair fo... First dress up your metal shelves with a coat of paint in an accent color that complements your kitchen decor. Then arrang... The vibrant green of Granny Smith apples make a beautifully natural alternative to the traditional evergreen wreath. Brigh...
Follow_banner_a
Newsletter_icon Google_plus Facebook Twitter Pinterest Youtube Rss_icon