COMMUNITY FORUM

rudysmom

07:50PM | 09/17/04
Member Since: 09/16/04
1 lifetime posts
Bvwindows
I am wondering if anyone has any opinions about these doors that come with mini blinds in between the glass? What is the possibility of them breaking or getting damaged by the sun, heat or continuous use?

I haven't been able to find any reviews about them other than by the manufacturer (Pella), that are unbiased. Thanks!

Piffin

07:40PM | 09/22/04
Member Since: 11/06/02
1284 lifetime posts
My opinion is biased as well, from several bad experiences with Pella. They seem to focus more on offereing consumer 'toys' like the miniblinds, than on high quality door and window units. They do work hard to replace poor quality stuff in the first year or two, but I have heard way too manystories of them ignoring customers from bygine years who have problems with their products.

If you dont need the blinds, Marvin, Andersen, and Kolbe Kolbe all have better units available, though not all as inexpensive.

Excellence is its own reward!


kcjaars

12:44AM | 05/11/05
Member Since: 05/10/05
4 lifetime posts
I have over 25 pella casement windows here in wisconsin and the only problem I have ever had was with the blind actuator stripping its gears. They have never failed to take care of my concerns. i began installing them almost 25 years ago and my wife loves them. You do have to follow their installation instructions to the "T" otherwise you will have problems. An ounce of prevention... Well thats my 2 cents.

BV002705

07:25PM | 12/02/13
the strings controlling the lift/tilt functions of our in-between glass blinds are broken and Pella will not repair them. we were told replacement blinds are $500 for each patio door!
Click_to_reply_button
Inspiration_banner

INSPIRATION GALLERY



Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply_choose_button

captcha
type the code from the image

Anonymous

Post_new_button or Login_button
Register

Oversize windows let the outside in, even in a cozy cottage bathroom like this one. A roller screen and wraparound shower ... Built on a rocky island in the Drina River, near the town of Bajina Basta, Serbia, this wooden house was cobbled together ... Large steel-framed windows flood the interior of this remodeled Michigan barn with daylight. The owners hired Northworks A... Edging formed with upside-down wine bottles is a refreshing change. Cleverly and artistically involving recycled materials... A Washington State couple called on BC&J Architects to transform their 400-square-foot boathouse into a hub for family bea... Similar to the elevated utensil concept, hanging your pots and pans from a ceiling-mounted rack keeps them nearby and easy... Few projects are more fun than upcycling a vintage piece in a surprising way. Outfitted with a sink and a delicately tiled... The thyme growing between these stepping stones adds a heady fragrance to strolls along this lush, low-maintenance garden ... Decoupage is an easy way to add any paper design to your switch plate, whether it is wallpaper, scrapbook paper, book page... Twine lanterns add pops of crafty—but sophisticated—flair to any outdoor setting. Wrap glue-soaked twine around a balloon ... When securely fastened to a tree or the ceiling of a porch, a pallet and some cushioning make the ideal place to lounge. V... Reluctant to throw away any of those unidentified keys in your junk drawer? Hang them from a few chains attached to a simp... A stripped-down model, sans screened porch, starts out at $79,000. Add the porch, a heated floor for the bath, and all the... Salvaged boards in varying widths and colors make up the dramatic accent wall in this attic space. The high-gloss white of... This garden shed has been decked out to the nines. Designer Orla Kiely created the intimate home for a flower trade show, ...
Follow_banner_a
Newsletter_icon Google_plus Facebook Twitter Pinterest Youtube Rss_icon
 
webapp1