COMMUNITY FORUM

ChargerGuy440

09:57AM | 12/27/04
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Bvflooring
A little over a month ago I installed a "Tap Tight" floating wood floor system. As soon as it was finished, it had a cracking noise in one spot. With in 2-3 days a couple of the planks butt joints started to separate. Now most of them have separated, along with several of the sides of the planks.

I went to Harris Tarkett's web site and e-mailed them with my complaint twice. After not getting any response from them I called their office.

I was connected with a Mr. Tim Coggins. After explaining my problem with their floor, he blamed the humidity levels in my house as the cause.

I don't agree with this because of how quickly these joints started separating.

Mr. Coggins instructed my to go back to the store that I bought the flooring from. Through the store I am suppose to request that an "independent" inspector come look at my problems with the floor. Then store will send Mr. Coggins a copy of the inpector's report. Afterwards, he will discuss any repair/refunds. Mr. Coggins did stress that the store had to act as a go between. He did not even want my telephone number at first.

Has anyone had the same problems that I have? What was the solution to repairing the floor?

Also, has anyone had one of these "inspections" and delt with Harris Tarkett or its representative Mr. Coggins?

My floor looked great for about 2 days after it was installed, but now with these problems I would not recommend it to anyone.

I would appreciate any help that I can get with this complaint. Thank you.

Greg

Floorwizard

08:25AM | 12/28/04
Member Since: 07/21/04
41 lifetime posts
Well the fact is that nobody knows for sure until an inspector arrives.

I know that since the store is local and they carry the product and probably the display, that they should feel inclined to inspect the floor.

was the floor acclimated?

Is your humidity level somewhat constant in your home?

how much did the product cost?

*** "One floor expert to rule them all!" ***

ChargerGuy440

06:54AM | 01/02/05
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Floor Wizard,

Thanks for replying to my posting. I appreciate any help I can get dealing with this problem.

The flooring was acclimated to the house. It sat inside my dinning room for over a week before I installed it.

As for the humidity levels in my house. I do not have a humidifier on my heating system so it does very with the weather. However, the floor was laid in mid November and though humidity does affect wood, I don't believe this is the main problem. The butt joints started to separate within 2-3 days after completion. And that was even after not using the floor for at least 24 hours to allow the "pre-glued" joints to fully set up.

This was not a cheap product. I think it was about $54. per box, which covers 14.7 square feet. Now I wish I would have just gone with a "Pergo" type product, which was about half the cost and more stable.

I did file my complaint with the store I bought it from. (H.D.) They are going to send out one of their installers to inspect it. Then they will send a report to Harris Tarkett. What should I look for, or be asking the inspector while he is here?

I really feel ripped off by this product.


Floorwizard

08:59AM | 01/03/05
Member Since: 07/21/04
41 lifetime posts
A huge majority of lam problems are install related.

unless it is a cheap floor, and it doesn't look like it was.

Sometimes gaps can form if the lam is "tapped" too hard. I am not sure if this is the case.

You should find out what the manufacturer allowance is for gaping, and check your gaps, and take notes.

A lam floor should not have big time gaps, but lam can gap all the time.

Hence the allowance. Usually the thickness of a piece of paper or so, and no more.

like I said, usually install error. But not always.

*** "One floor expert to rule them all!" ***

TradesProfessionals

10:43PM | 01/15/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
I recently had a client choose this flooring and found that it was defective. For one the planks are not square. (2). the tongues are larger than the depths of the grooves in some of the boards. (3). The already applied glue has much to be desired, and (4). The plane of the installed planks isn't even or level in all the boards.

********** has pulled it from the shelves just last week, January 8, 2005, and it's no wonder why. We are going to demand a full refund on the product from The Depot and Harris-Tarkett, and take them to court over it if necessary . . . they both were/are aware of the problems and that's why it's been pulled. The ********** droped the price of this product to the same level they sell their other laminates at, $44.10 per 14.75 square feet to liquidate their stock of it.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

TradesProfessionals

10:46PM | 01/15/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
I recently had a client choose this flooring and found that it was defective. For one the planks are not square. (2). the tongues are larger than the depths of the grooves in some of the boards. (3). The already applied glue has much to be desired, and (4). The plane of the installed planks isn't even or level in all the boards.

The Depot has pulled it from the shelves just last week, January 8, 2005, and it's no wonder why. We are going to demand a full refund on the product from The Depot and Harris-Tarkett, and take them to court over it if necessary . . . they both were/are aware of the problems and that's why it's been pulled. The Depot droped the price of this product to the same level they sell their other laminates at, $44.10 per 14.75 square feet to liquidate their stock of it.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

ChargerGuy440

01:56PM | 01/16/05
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Well the "indepent" inspector came out and examined my floor. In his report he blamed a "slight out of rack" condition as the cause of my problems. I'm not sure exactly what he meant or what this is, but of course Harris Tarkett has denied my claim. They called it a installation problem and not a defect with their product.

I have to agree with the TradesProfessionals comments. I think the preapplied glue is the problem. I did 2 test gluings with left over flooring I had.

I let the first one set for 24 hours and then pulled the joint to see how strong the glue held. It didn't, pulling apart easily.

The second planks I let sit for 48 hours. Again, the preapplied glue joint pulled apart with little effort.

The representitive from the Depot said that he'd meet with me to discuss the report. Any suggestions on how to handle that? I think this product was doomed to fail.

TradesProfessionals

05:37PM | 01/16/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
The Depot knows has known of this problem for some time as their installers were having them; and it's why the discontinued the line, liquidating their stock at clearance prices. Don't let The Depot Rep BS you on this, he knows the story same as Harris-Tarkett. I'm going to demand an adjustment here in a letter of intent to file suit; and if you want to get their attention I suggest you do the same. List in your claim of damages the initial cost of the floor and 2.00 per square foot to install it; 2.00 per foot to remove and dispose of it; and whatever the price is of the alternate product you choose plus installation.

Be sure to file in small claims court, keeping your demand for damages under 5,000. Harris Tarket nor The Depot can ignore a notice/subpeona to appear regardless of who and how big they think they are. Follow my advice and you'll get the results you seek.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

jcosms

04:30PM | 01/19/05
Member Since: 01/18/05
3 lifetime posts
Lumber liquidators used the independent inspector trick on me. I tried to get one of their managers to come out, but finally agreed to the "inspector". How independent can anyone be if they know their next job depends on whether they support the company line (their contract employer) everytime.

The inspector told me one thing then wrote up the report with an entirely different slant. Don't let an "independent inspector" in your house without your lawyer being present!!

I'm turning it over to a lawyer.

TradesProfessionals

06:06AM | 01/20/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
Chances are this insector was really a salesman acting as an inspector. If there were more responses and complaints here on the board I suggest moving this into a class action status, though we may be starting that ball rolling.

I'm going after the depot as my primary ****** as they knew of the defects and continued to sell it out.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals
Click_to_reply_button Inspiration_banner

INSPIRATION GALLERY



Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply_choose_button

captcha
type the code from the image

Anonymous

Post_new_button or Login_button
Register

Follow_banner_a
Newsletter_icon Google_plus Facebook Twitter Pinterest Youtube Rss_icon
 
webapp2