COMMUNITY FORUM

BV001119

03:25PM | 05/23/13
The HSS store has blamed the installer. Parts of the Bella wood has lost it finish. The moisture was checked and is not to blame.

How can they hold the installer for a defect in the wood?

Do your self a favor and keep away from Lumber Liquidators, the installers they recommend come from the HSS store.

The installer was fine but the HHS store wants him to pick up the cost for the reinstall and material needed for a product that is guaranteed for life.

Terrible service by LL and HSS. Beware!

BV002045

07:07AM | 09/09/13
I purchased all my flooring and supplies from lumber liquidators and was going to use someone a friend recommended to me, but I could get a definite price from this guy because if the unknown additional price to pulling up my kitchen hardwood flooring which was going to cost me anywhere between $300 -$600. Lumber Liquidators, L.L. told me I would benefit using their installers as i was purchasing my flooring from them and any problems would be fixed faster. The charge would be $25.09 and I would pay this installer when he came out to give me the estimate, and I would get this credited back to me if I decided to use their flooring guys. I set-up this appointment by phone and to my knowledge who ever picked I do not recall them saying, Home Service Store, Inc., nor HSS. The owner of J. L Flooring came out and measured and gave me a rough estimate, but did not ask this deposit, although i mentioned to him ro not let me forget to pay him the fee of $25. he gave me around about cost and has as far as the kitchen floor was concerned there was no addition charge, as I pulled up some if the wood flooring myself, while he was here and it was sitting on vinyl and was not glued to the cement. A few weeks later the date was set. Delivery on July 31st and insulation would start on August the 7th. The flooring was delivered on a Wednesday morning around 10:00am by this flooring company and it was all stacked up to around 4 ft tall. This guy then told me he had cancellations the rest if the week and could start the installation in the morning. That was a huge red flag for me and I laughed and said all he and Lumber liquidators had repeatedly rold me was the flooring had to acclimate to my home, and sure i let him install it, but only if he writes in the invoice the day and time he delivered it and that he would be installing it tomorrow. He then said let's wait until Friday. He then said I needed to pay 10% down, yet when I handed him my card he wouldn't take it and told me once he got a person in the phone he would then give me the phone to give my credit card information to. As this man was leaving i walked him out through my gargage and asked him if all my misc. supplies were there and he assured me they were all there.
I'm really upset because I now don't trust this guy. To be continued tomorrow

baysbet

05:34PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Not surprised whatsoever that I found a bunch of complaints about Lumber Liquidators on this site. Bob, you really need to stop endorsing them! Although they may have great prices they treat their customers like dirt. I went in this past few weeks and explained in detail that although I wanted real hardwood I did not want to pay a lot because I am selling the property and we are retired on limited funds. Wrong thing to say the truth because I got the cold shoulder the rest of the way because my project was not big enough to bother with. I purchased and still have over $600 worth of flooring. I ordered a stair nose piece which was not ordered although it was discussed extensively with the asst. manager so I waited another week for that to come in. I was told that since I purchased a click floor which I specifically wanted the installation would be $2 a sq. ft. I was not initially told about the additional charges of $50 per room, $10 per threshold, per-per-per, etc. which brought the $160 installation cost to $307. Still wanted to go thru with it although I was wronged. Very bad communication, had to call them repeatedly to get the estimator to come out. When he did he also gave me the estimate at $2 a sq. ft. to install. When I called once again to get the installation date a week later the installer told me this floor was a glue/nail down and I was confused about the installation cost. I then called the store manager who took his time calling me back because his bathroom habits took priority which was a final slap in the face and it was only to inform me that there was a confusion about the installation and it apparently was on my part. This was a very bad experience from the word go. At this point I do not know what to do. But please learn from my experience because you will probably get the same treatment unless you have 5000+ sq ft. to install. Customer care sent me a survey in response to my complaint and told me the company has "unheard of service" and my complaint was an isolated instance. But they also did not know who owned the company and who I could send a complaint email to. I have only to wonder what "heard of service" is because I am not getting either. I am so very sorry I started this whole project.

baysbet

05:43PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Not surprised whatsoever that I found a bunch of complaints about Lumber Liquidators on this site. Bob, you really need to stop endorsing them! Although they may have great prices they treat their customers like dirt. I went in this past few weeks and explained in detail that although I wanted real hardwood I did not want to pay a lot because I am selling the property and we are retired on limited funds. Wrong thing to say the truth because I got the cold shoulder the rest of the way because my project was not big enough to bother with. I purchased and still have over $600 worth of flooring. I ordered a stair nose piece which was not ordered although it was discussed extensively with the asst. manager so I waited another week for that to come in. I was told that since I purchased a click floor which I specifically wanted the installation would be $2 a sq. ft. I was not initially told about the additional charges of $50 per room, $10 per threshold, per-per-per, etc. which brought the $160 installation cost to $307. Still wanted to go thru with it although I was wronged. Very bad communication, had to call them repeatedly to get the estimator to come out. When he did he also gave me the estimate at $2 a sq. ft. to install. When I called once again to get the installation date a week later the installer told me this floor was a glue/nail down and I was confused about the installation cost. I then called the store manager who took his time calling me back because his bathroom habits took priority which was a final slap in the face and it was only to inform me that there was a confusion about the installation and it apparently was on my part. This was a very bad experience from the word go. At this point I do not know what to do. But please learn from my experience because you will probably get the same treatment unless you have 5000+ sq ft. to install. Customer care sent me a survey in response to my complaint and told me the company has "unheard of service" and my complaint was an isolated instance. But they also did not know who owned the company and who I could send a complaint email to. I have only to wonder what "heard of service" is because I am not getting either. I am so very sorry I started this whole project.

baysbet

05:46PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Not surprised whatsoever that I found a bunch of complaints about Lumber Liquidators. Bob, you really need to stop endorsing them! Although they may have great prices they treat their customers like dirt. I went in this past few weeks and explained in detail that although I wanted real hardwood I did not want to pay a lot because I am selling the property and we are retired on limited funds. Wrong thing to say the truth because I got the cold shoulder the rest of the way because my project was not big enough to bother with. I purchased and still have over $600 worth of flooring. I ordered a stair nose piece which was not ordered although it was discussed extensively with the asst. manager so I waited another week for that to come in. I was told that since I purchased a click floor which I specifically wanted the installation would be $2 a sq. ft. I was not initially told about the additional charges of $50 per room, $10 per threshold, per-per-per, etc. which brought the $160 installation cost to $307. Still wanted to go thru with it although I was wronged. Very bad communication, had to call them repeatedly to get the estimator to come out. When he did he also gave me the estimate at $2 a sq. ft. to install. When I called once again to get the installation date a week later the installer told me this floor was a glue/nail down and I was confused about the installation cost. I then called the store manager who took his time calling me back because his bathroom habits took priority which was a final slap in the face and it was only to inform me that there was a confusion about the installation and it apparently was on my part. This was a very bad experience from the word go. At this point I do not know what to do. But please learn from my experience because you will probably get the same treatment unless you have 5000+ sq ft. to install. Customer care sent me a survey in response to my complaint and told me the company has "unheard of service" and my complaint was an isolated instance. But they also did not know who owned the company and who I could send a complaint email to. I have only to wonder what "heard of service" and "unheard of service" is because I am not getting either. I am so very sorry I started this whole project.

baysbet

05:51PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Anyone besides me having a problem with Lumber Liquidators recently? I tried to post but was blocked.

BV002233

09:18PM | 10/03/13
We purchased roughly 1,200 square feet of really affordable laminate and had it professionally installed. Within months of installation, we started to experience buckling in the material, creating trip hazards throughout the house. Unsure whether we had an installation or materials issue on our hands, we sought the assistance of Lumber Liquidators to get to the bottom of it. Our hope was that they'd send someone to our property to take a look at the floors. Instead, after weeks of dodging our emails and phone calls, we received a generic response indicating our warranty was void for any number of reasons and that the matter was closed. I'm preparing to dispute the charges on my credit card, to initiate contact with the better business bureau and potentially to sue them in small claims court. I don't know whether it's the cheap product or the installation that's caused the safety hazards we're dealing with in the house, but I do know that Lumber Liquidators doesn't care one way or the other. So what's their value proposition?

BV002419

11:13PM | 10/26/13
I am a flooring contractor with 25 yrs of experience and a good reputation. I called lumberliqudators ( huge mistake) looking for some install work . So they refered me to HSS for an interview over the phone and application for credit and license information. Fair enough gave them all the info, thought I was a shoe in with all my experience . Well this rep with no knowledge of hardwood floors calls me back and tells me my credit scores wernt good enough and they couldn't use me! Couldn't believe it , so I go online look them up to find they have all these negative comments about them ( wasn't really supprised) . Actually think they just used me . Gotta tell ya don't ever buy flooring from lumber liquidators there flooring us garbage and don't ever use there installers , there's a lot of quality flooring contractors out there and you should go to a carpet one dealer or someone reputable with a good rep.

BV002446

05:02AM | 10/30/13
They suck .Problem after problem. Denver co store.i will not recommend them to anyone.spent over 5k. And the manger clay is a joke.never returns your calls. I'm going to also turn them in to the BBB. Also.
Click_to_reply_button Inspiration_banner

INSPIRATION GALLERY



Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply_choose_button

Anonymous

Post_new_button or Login_button
Register

Follow_banner_a
Newsletter_icon Google_plus Facebook Twitter Pinterest Youtube Rss_icon
 
webapp2