Latest Discussions : Home Design

batsey

06:19PM | 06/25/04
Member Since: 06/24/04
8 lifetime posts
What are the standard sizes of closets for a house about 1800 SQF.

Since a hangar is approximately 14"... shouldn't the closet be at least 14 1/2?

Is thier such thing as a minimum standard for a hallway 'linen' closet. In order for linens to properly fit inside, I would think it needs to be at least 12" deep.

I live in Maryland. There is a brand new house I viewed with a 'coat closet' that is 13" and a 'linen closet' that is only 8 1/2"!

All feedback is appreciated. TY

homebild

04:20PM | 06/26/04
Member Since: 01/28/03
693 lifetime posts
Most building codes have no 'standards' nor ant requirements for minimum closets sizes or requirements for closets in homes at all.

That said, what you and the builder decide is 'proper' ends up being 'standard'.

Most coat hangars are at least 19" long. Add for thick winter coats and closet depths need to be at LEAST 30" deep.

And since most closet rods are spaced at 12" from the backwall, 30" from front of closet partition to back of closet wall is a bare minimum distance under most circumstances.

But again, since there are no codes governing closet depths, sizes and appurtenances...you or the builder are completely on your own when designing closets for any home.

Piffin

07:44PM | 06/26/04
Member Since: 11/06/02
1278 lifetime posts
I design and frame my closets at 25" deep frame to finish at 24"

22" wouild do OK for many items but I tried that in one of my own and it is a source of constant complaint for my wife.

Linen closets get to finish out at 18" deeep.

Excellence is its own reward!


batsey

08:02PM | 06/26/04
Member Since: 06/24/04
8 lifetime posts
Thanks for the replies Homebild and Piffin.

Unfortunately, I bought this house. Its now 2 months old and those 2 closets are the least of my problems. The builder, GEMCRAFT HOMES really needs to hire more qualified persons to build thier homes.

I think they are still trying to figure out how to show me wich way to fold my bath towel so it fits in the linen closet!

Its really a pain to have them deny the shoddy work.

Thanks again for your responses :)

sincerely,

batsey

tomh

12:47PM | 06/27/04
Member Since: 07/01/03
549 lifetime posts
The builders use a plan drafted by an architect to frame and finish the structure. GemCraft hires architects and probably tells them we want as much living space as possible at the lowest cost. At any rate, it is the designer that shorted you on closet space. This occured way back when you home (an a good many others) were on paper. You can't fault the workment that built the place for following the plan. Elevate your complaint to GemCraft. Its a design problem and was predictable.

batsey

02:55AM | 06/28/04
Member Since: 06/24/04
8 lifetime posts
Yes Tom, it is the builders. Gemcraft like ALL companies has a responsibility when selling a product. When a toy company manufactures a toy that they find out later can harm your child... they recall it and they STOP selling it.As long as I've been on this earth, Cars, baby swings, foods, makeup.... all have been recalled to be destroyed or "Fixed" at the companies expense. What if you bought a Ford Mustang Tom, and you find a problem with it the next day? You take it back to the dealer and they say.. well Tom, we are sorry but we don't design them, we just sell'em and furthermore, we cannot fix this because there is no more room in the engine to install the part needed to make it run right.

My point Tom.... Gemcraft needs to stop building this home and replace it with a different model.

So, don't tell me it's not the builders fault, it is Gemcrafts responsibility.

Furthermore, I would like to make a statement to anyone buying a new home. With the large amount of homes being built today and the lack of skilled, qualified workers, buyer beware.....dont think your house will be as nice as the model, I recommend talking to Everyone else that is already living in a home in that development. If red flags start going up.. you get out.

tomh

06:48AM | 06/28/04
Member Since: 07/01/03
549 lifetime posts
Let me clarify. The "workmen" (framing carpenters, are not at fault if they were following the design drawings and locating walls properly. The problem lies in the design which was accepted by Gemcraft who is ultimately responsible.

**The builder, GEMCRAFT HOMES really needs to hire more qualified persons to build thier homes**

The workmen building the house may be adequately skilled, but you are right the builder (Gemcraft) needs to review their design. Any disagreement you have with me is a matter of semantics.

Piffin

04:42PM | 06/29/04
Member Since: 11/06/02
1278 lifetime posts
Since I don't know hw this ourtfit does business, who they hire, how their plans are produced, or what language the sales contract contains, I can't comment on that, but "Let the buyer beware" is always good advice. I agree heartily!

But I also find your comparisons amusing, since buysers of Mustangs have found the rear seat of that particular automobile to be too small for comfort for a generation, but I am unaware of any returning the car to the dealer or voicing an internet complaint about that size in the same amnner that you have voiced your complaint about the size of the gemcraft closets.

Of of the general rules in home design is that you can never have enough closets or have large enough closets to satisfy most owners. But it is equally true that if the closets were all large enough, the family would have no living space or the house would be an ugly monstrosity.

How large (or small) are your closets, exactly, just for point of discussion and curiosity?

Excellence is its own reward!


WayneH

04:18PM | 09/06/04
Member Since: 09/05/04
1 lifetime posts
I am in the process of buying a home from Gemcraft. The people they hire can not even read plans. They put a closet in the wrong room!

This was just one of a multitude of "Mistakes" They have made so far and we are weeks from closing. Every week its 2 or 3 new things.

batsey

08:12AM | 09/07/04
Member Since: 06/24/04
8 lifetime posts
Hi Wayne,

Unfortunately I lived too far away to stay on top of things when my home was being built. I depended on the site supervisor to see that things were up to par, boy what a mistake that was. I have been living in my home 4 months and now I deal with the service department of Gemcraft. In the future I have many repairs to look forward too including, but not limited to my flooring being removed so that the concrete slab underneath can be repaired. *rolls eyes*

I can put a pencil on the end of my kitchen table and it will roll off the other end all by itself! I realize the concrete poeple are at fault but I also feel the site supervisor wasn't doing his job. I live in a Maryland community and many of my neighbors are experiencing 'beyond shoddy' work in thier homes too. When it does come time for your walkthru... don't sign off on anything you want fixed later.. even if the supervisor says otherwise. Eventually your house will be turned over to the service department and things will be handled differently. After my experience I will probably never have another home built unless I do it myself!

missie

08:10AM | 01/06/05
Member Since: 01/05/05
1 lifetime posts
Or should I say gemcrap. We have had nothing but trouble. We are in Southern Delaware and the work is real shabby. we had to have 4 windows moved 2 weeks before settlement that we caught. When we told the site suporvisor he said atleast we could read a blue print it's a shame the capenters can't. Can you imagine that!

Issues beyond anything I ever imagined. Now the heating season is upon us. Not real cold yet but we had 2 propane deliveries in addtion to the original one. We are up over $600 for a 2300 sf home and it not even the coldest months of the year.

The heating installers were terrible. The landscapers worse. The painters patch don't sand then paint. The front of our house still isn't right and when we complained we were told that it may cost Gemcraft too much money to fix it. Again I say Can you imagine that?!

We have a 6 month check up and they sent us a sheet with about 8 lines on. Boy were they way over confident. I had to type 2 pages worth of troubles. Many of which will not be addressed.

Hardwood flooring that was installed over poor subfloors. The flooring company told us they will fix the floor but aren't sure how much good it will do us. Floor pops everywhere. A gas fireplace that we questioned prior to settlement why there was not a blower....told it was not standard...find out 6 months later it was. Makes me mad because of the lack of concern for the customer. To think they are the biggest builder down in slower lower sussex county.

bravey

07:07PM | 01/06/05
Member Since: 06/23/04
161 lifetime posts
I went to Gemcraft's website and read through all of their information. Nowhere did they ever mention using architects to design their houses. It is more likely that they used "designers" or "draftsmen". Ultimately, the responsibility lies with those who are selling the product which, in this case, is Gemcraft. This is the same as if you had purchased a refrigerator at Se*rs and found it to be poorly designed, you would seek a refund or repair from Se*rs, not the guy who designed it or drew the blueprints.

Having been in the building trade for more than thirty years I have seen screwups made by owners, designers, architects, general contractors, and, yes - even framers. Nobody can say its one person's fault or another's unless they actually have seen ALL of the information, including the plans themselves and the house itself. If Gemcraft is truly selling homes, as they claim, with "an award winning commitment to excellence", they wouldn't allow shoddy work. Otherwise they are just another cookiecutter homebuilder with a a good used-car-lot sales pitch. Anyone can screw up, the differnace is whether or not they fix the problem.

Regards

JohnLee

07:15PM | 01/06/05
Member Since: 01/05/05
1 lifetime posts
I'm another Gemcraft home buyer, not happy with the closets. A 83"-wide wall closet in a bedroom has big not-very-useful space in the corner because it has only one door that is only 30" wide.

Another closet inside the garage has a door that doesn't fully open because it hits the garage door track. Other houses with the same model has the same problem and the construction manager was aware of it, and they must have built hundreds of these houses already. However, it makes us particularly upset because we opted to extend the garage by 4' on the side and 4' on the front. So, they should have enough room to adjust the position of the garage door to avoid this problem, and yet they didn't.

Can somebody still tell me this is not Gemcraft problem?

Shawn3778

02:52AM | 02/11/06
Member Since: 12/17/05
4 lifetime posts
Come visit our blog on gemcraft ofMaryland/Deleware at

http://s15.invisionfree.com/MapleHeights/index.php?

Shawn3778

02:55AM | 02/11/06
Member Since: 12/17/05
4 lifetime posts
Visit our Gemcraft blg at

http://s15.invisionfree.com/MapleHeights/index.php?

brentiya

09:14PM | 08/09/06
Member Since: 08/05/06
1 lifetime posts
Hello,

Well, I seem to be one of many who have a Gemcraft home and is not satisfied with the service department. My 6 month post settlement problem sheet had 45 items that needed repairs. Although most have been repaired some have not. I would like to share stories if anyone is interested. I am the only house in my development that has the sewer line running under the driveway. Sunk of course Oct 13, 2005. Called Gemcraft in Delaware and 12 calls later and a lot of *****en to get repaired. A temp repair was made Christmas Eve. Currently still have settlement in this area from street to house (80'), tons of rocks in yard front and back,grass seed was applied, then straw, then it rained, washed seed out from under straw, cut hay up with riding tractor, to find no dirt just rocks. Grass will not grow. Gemcraft says "starter lawn needs management plan" I think Gemcrafts service department needs to live in their own pile of ***** and see how they like it. Front entry door hanging crooked. 1,768 hard spots in carpet padding, driveway starting to settle again Oct 13, 2005 driveway sunk (settled 18" deep, 36" wide, entire width of driveway at garage apron). More problems if anyone interested. Anyone get better response from the service department?

Brentiya, Elkton, MD

gemexemp

09:49AM | 09/18/06
Member Since: 09/17/06
1 lifetime posts
Part of your disappointment with Gemcraft Homes, comes from the fact that they recently terminated a significant number of employees. This takes away from the response time needed to keep satisfied customers. Many of the dedicated and caring staff were "let go". The slogan of "Setting the Standard" was recently changed to "Building Dreams One Home at a Time". More fitting would be "Destroying Dreams One Home at a Time" when they left families without an income.

infor21921

07:37AM | 02/08/07
Member Since: 02/07/07
2 lifetime posts
Gemcraft Home Warranty Service department is staffed by people who are known drug users, and have restraing orders against them for domestic abuse. It is no wonder that they are incompetent.

infor21921

07:49AM | 02/08/07
Member Since: 02/07/07
2 lifetime posts
Your blog has been disabled. The home warranty department of Gemcraft is staffed by people who get high before they do service calls. The have restraing orders against them for domestic violence, the company is aware of this. It is no wonder the service quality is poor, what more can you expect?

BV010409

11:16PM | 02/06/16
Wow. I'm sooo grateful I live in an old house. My bedroom sizes are generous, so are the reach in closets, kitchen, dining and bath. All for 1, 050 sq ft. (2 bdrm). I hope all y'all get justice for the shoddy work.


Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply choose button

Anonymous

Post new button or Login button
Register