COMMUNITY FORUM

ChargerGuy440

09:57AM | 12/27/04
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Bvflooring
A little over a month ago I installed a "Tap Tight" floating wood floor system. As soon as it was finished, it had a cracking noise in one spot. With in 2-3 days a couple of the planks butt joints started to separate. Now most of them have separated, along with several of the sides of the planks.

I went to Harris Tarkett's web site and e-mailed them with my complaint twice. After not getting any response from them I called their office.

I was connected with a Mr. Tim Coggins. After explaining my problem with their floor, he blamed the humidity levels in my house as the cause.

I don't agree with this because of how quickly these joints started separating.

Mr. Coggins instructed my to go back to the store that I bought the flooring from. Through the store I am suppose to request that an "independent" inspector come look at my problems with the floor. Then store will send Mr. Coggins a copy of the inpector's report. Afterwards, he will discuss any repair/refunds. Mr. Coggins did stress that the store had to act as a go between. He did not even want my telephone number at first.

Has anyone had the same problems that I have? What was the solution to repairing the floor?

Also, has anyone had one of these "inspections" and delt with Harris Tarkett or its representative Mr. Coggins?

My floor looked great for about 2 days after it was installed, but now with these problems I would not recommend it to anyone.

I would appreciate any help that I can get with this complaint. Thank you.

Greg

Floorwizard

08:25AM | 12/28/04
Member Since: 07/21/04
41 lifetime posts
Well the fact is that nobody knows for sure until an inspector arrives.

I know that since the store is local and they carry the product and probably the display, that they should feel inclined to inspect the floor.

was the floor acclimated?

Is your humidity level somewhat constant in your home?

how much did the product cost?

*** "One floor expert to rule them all!" ***

ChargerGuy440

06:54AM | 01/02/05
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Floor Wizard,

Thanks for replying to my posting. I appreciate any help I can get dealing with this problem.

The flooring was acclimated to the house. It sat inside my dinning room for over a week before I installed it.

As for the humidity levels in my house. I do not have a humidifier on my heating system so it does very with the weather. However, the floor was laid in mid November and though humidity does affect wood, I don't believe this is the main problem. The butt joints started to separate within 2-3 days after completion. And that was even after not using the floor for at least 24 hours to allow the "pre-glued" joints to fully set up.

This was not a cheap product. I think it was about $54. per box, which covers 14.7 square feet. Now I wish I would have just gone with a "Pergo" type product, which was about half the cost and more stable.

I did file my complaint with the store I bought it from. (H.D.) They are going to send out one of their installers to inspect it. Then they will send a report to Harris Tarkett. What should I look for, or be asking the inspector while he is here?

I really feel ripped off by this product.


Floorwizard

08:59AM | 01/03/05
Member Since: 07/21/04
41 lifetime posts
A huge majority of lam problems are install related.

unless it is a cheap floor, and it doesn't look like it was.

Sometimes gaps can form if the lam is "tapped" too hard. I am not sure if this is the case.

You should find out what the manufacturer allowance is for gaping, and check your gaps, and take notes.

A lam floor should not have big time gaps, but lam can gap all the time.

Hence the allowance. Usually the thickness of a piece of paper or so, and no more.

like I said, usually install error. But not always.

*** "One floor expert to rule them all!" ***

TradesProfessionals

10:43PM | 01/15/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
I recently had a client choose this flooring and found that it was defective. For one the planks are not square. (2). the tongues are larger than the depths of the grooves in some of the boards. (3). The already applied glue has much to be desired, and (4). The plane of the installed planks isn't even or level in all the boards.

********** has pulled it from the shelves just last week, January 8, 2005, and it's no wonder why. We are going to demand a full refund on the product from The Depot and Harris-Tarkett, and take them to court over it if necessary . . . they both were/are aware of the problems and that's why it's been pulled. The ********** droped the price of this product to the same level they sell their other laminates at, $44.10 per 14.75 square feet to liquidate their stock of it.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

TradesProfessionals

10:46PM | 01/15/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
I recently had a client choose this flooring and found that it was defective. For one the planks are not square. (2). the tongues are larger than the depths of the grooves in some of the boards. (3). The already applied glue has much to be desired, and (4). The plane of the installed planks isn't even or level in all the boards.

The Depot has pulled it from the shelves just last week, January 8, 2005, and it's no wonder why. We are going to demand a full refund on the product from The Depot and Harris-Tarkett, and take them to court over it if necessary . . . they both were/are aware of the problems and that's why it's been pulled. The Depot droped the price of this product to the same level they sell their other laminates at, $44.10 per 14.75 square feet to liquidate their stock of it.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

ChargerGuy440

01:56PM | 01/16/05
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Well the "indepent" inspector came out and examined my floor. In his report he blamed a "slight out of rack" condition as the cause of my problems. I'm not sure exactly what he meant or what this is, but of course Harris Tarkett has denied my claim. They called it a installation problem and not a defect with their product.

I have to agree with the TradesProfessionals comments. I think the preapplied glue is the problem. I did 2 test gluings with left over flooring I had.

I let the first one set for 24 hours and then pulled the joint to see how strong the glue held. It didn't, pulling apart easily.

The second planks I let sit for 48 hours. Again, the preapplied glue joint pulled apart with little effort.

The representitive from the Depot said that he'd meet with me to discuss the report. Any suggestions on how to handle that? I think this product was doomed to fail.

TradesProfessionals

05:37PM | 01/16/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
The Depot knows has known of this problem for some time as their installers were having them; and it's why the discontinued the line, liquidating their stock at clearance prices. Don't let The Depot Rep BS you on this, he knows the story same as Harris-Tarkett. I'm going to demand an adjustment here in a letter of intent to file suit; and if you want to get their attention I suggest you do the same. List in your claim of damages the initial cost of the floor and 2.00 per square foot to install it; 2.00 per foot to remove and dispose of it; and whatever the price is of the alternate product you choose plus installation.

Be sure to file in small claims court, keeping your demand for damages under 5,000. Harris Tarket nor The Depot can ignore a notice/subpeona to appear regardless of who and how big they think they are. Follow my advice and you'll get the results you seek.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

jcosms

04:30PM | 01/19/05
Member Since: 01/18/05
3 lifetime posts
Lumber liquidators used the independent inspector trick on me. I tried to get one of their managers to come out, but finally agreed to the "inspector". How independent can anyone be if they know their next job depends on whether they support the company line (their contract employer) everytime.

The inspector told me one thing then wrote up the report with an entirely different slant. Don't let an "independent inspector" in your house without your lawyer being present!!

I'm turning it over to a lawyer.

TradesProfessionals

06:06AM | 01/20/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
Chances are this insector was really a salesman acting as an inspector. If there were more responses and complaints here on the board I suggest moving this into a class action status, though we may be starting that ball rolling.

I'm going after the depot as my primary ****** as they knew of the defects and continued to sell it out.

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

jcosms

03:22PM | 01/20/05
Member Since: 01/18/05
3 lifetime posts
The guys Lumber Liquidators used come from a company called L & N .....,Inc. I asked one of the principles about the qualifications of their reps and their specialty. They inspect countertops, vinyl flooring, wood flooring, and just about anything else a manufacturer will pay them for. My inspector knew little or nothing about wood flooring and it was obvious that he was doing exactly what he was told to do.

I guess the 'independent inspector' will fool some people. I've got over $8,000 invested in faulty flooring and I don't intend to lay down like they want me to.

Anyone else have inspector stories??

ChargerGuy440

05:47PM | 01/20/05
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
The more I learn about this product, the more I feel ripped off!

Well I went back to the Depot to contest the "indepentent" inspector's report. The staff there started to give me the same old song and dance about installers error.

But thanks to Mike Lonergan filling me in on how the Depot is pulling this product off their shelves due to its poor quality, they didn't know what to say when I confronted them about it.

The first guy called his manager and then a second manager was called. After the first guy told both managers that I had been "doing my homework on the internet" about "Tap Tight" they did admit that it was being discontinued. None of the Depot's employees would give me a reason why, just saying that it was going to be replaced with another fine product from Tarkett Floors.

I told them that actions speak louder than words and if they weren't getting a lot of complaints about it, they would still be selling it.

Now they're going to do another inspection. The Depot manager along with one of their "Tap Tight" trained installers is going to look at my floor and see if they can come up with a repair fix.

Mike so far you've been right on the money about what the Depot is doing. What do you or any of you other guys suggest on how to handle this next inspection?

doug seibert

06:29AM | 01/21/05
Member Since: 08/10/02
842 lifetime posts
http://www.harristarkett.com/PDF_files/taptight.pdf

Sounds like they'll be able to claim "installation" errors........

Did you keep any of the original packaged instructions ?

The Online PDF instructions CLEARLY indicate to keep all flooring factory sealed until the time of installation.........

And they REQUIRE the Humidity ALWAYS remain within 35-55%.........

With any engineered product ya gotta follow THEIR rules...........or there's no warranty.......

TradesProfessionals

06:44AM | 01/21/05
Member Since: 01/15/05
5 lifetime posts
You have boxed them in and the only way for them to get out is if you let them. I wish there was a way to attach pictures for everyone to see.

The flooring is defcetive with numerous imperfections and deficiencies. I am either going to have to tear up our floor project or pay to have it refinished, the choice is the customers decision though I think removal is going to be that directive.

Don't let the Depot bamboozal you. Their department experts are has-beens and want-a-bees; if they were really experts they be out here, and would not have traded a lucrative career for 40 cents on the dollar!!!

TradesProfessionals is on the web. I don't know if the monitor will let me state this but if you need help and support in this fight you may contact me. Go to http://www.tradesprofessionals.com for contact info. We are changing hosts so the site may be down for a day or so this week.

Thank you,

Mike Lonergan

Mike Lonergan

TradesProfessionals

ChargerGuy440

08:12AM | 02/16/05
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Well I am still working with the Depot to get this problem resolved. I was getting the brush off from the store I bought it from. It's head manager did not want to do anything for me, citing Harris Tarkett's "independant inspection" report.

However, I called their corporate complaint line and they connected me with a manager over the flooring department. Off the record he agreed that the "Tap Tight" product has not lived up to the Depots standards. He really seems to want to help me, but he is attempting to get Harris Tarkett to do something. I don't have a lot of faith that this is going to work.

I have to thank Mike Lonergan of the Trades Professionals, because it is only with the information he has provided that the Depot is giving this a second look.

Mr. Lonergan did you ever file that small claims court case you referred to in previous posting, or have any luck with your letter of intent to file suit? I could see my case going that route if Harris Tarkett isn't willing to work with my Depot representative.

All help is appreciated.


jzwijack

10:07AM | 02/10/09
Member Since: 02/09/09
1 lifetime posts
Great articles and support on this product defect item. Same problem in Wheaton Illinois. Thnaks for the education!!

ChargerGuy440

05:33PM | 02/11/09
Member Since: 12/26/04
6 lifetime posts
Well, after all this and all the headaches Harris Tarket and Home Depot got what they wanted. I gave up the fight.

I got as far as the flooring manager at the Home Depot I bought the "Tap Tight" flooring from admitting the floor was bad and needed replaced. However, he told me that he wasn't going to pay for the replacement out of his budjet, because that would cut into his bonus. He then said if we couldn't get Harris Tarket to replace it, it wasn't going to get fixed.

Well guess what, Harris Tarket wouldn't replace it.

Since Home Depot didn't want to stand behind the product they sold, I now shop at Lowe's!

bilboy311

04:40AM | 02/28/09
Member Since: 02/27/09
1 lifetime posts
I installed a tap tight floor about seven years ago in my family room. Over the yers there was some seperation in the seems but nothing as bad as you discribed in the complain. I am in the process of re-doing the floors in my upsatrs beedrooms and was ready to go back to Tap Tight I will definetly re-think that after seeing the problems you have had.

Hope you get full satisfaction. THANKS FOR THE TIP!
Click to reply button Inspiration banner

INSPIRATION GALLERY



Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply choose button

Anonymous

Post new button or Login button
Register

Follow banner a
Newsletter icon Flipboard glossy Facebook Twitter Pinterest Youtube Rss icon