A GREEN User's Guide

Discovering the differences and similarities among green certification seals.

  1. CRI Green Label

    Green Label

    The Carpet and Rug Institute features the Green Label and Green Label Plus certifications covering carpeting, rugs, cushioning materials and related adhesives. Products bearing these labels have been tested to ensure that they have very low emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs), which can adversely affect indoor air quality.


  2. Green Seal

    Green Seal

    The Green Seal is a certification program that covers a variety of home improvement products, including paints, coatings, stains and finishes; windows, doors, awnings and related adhesives; and household cleaning products. The seal certifies that products meet the highest standards of environmental quality and performance as set by the International Organization for Standardization.


  3. Oeko-Tex


    A variety of home textile products, including curtains, draperies, furniture coverings and mattresses, are tested and certified by the European testing organization Oeko-Tex. The Oeko-Tex Standard 100 is an international testing and certification system limiting the use of harmful chemicals in textile products.


  4. U.S. Green Building Council LEED


    The U.S. Green Building Council developed the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) program, a rating system for the design, construction and operation of high performance green buildings, homes and neighborhoods. LEED-certified buildings are designed to use resources more efficiently and provide healthier living and work environments than those simply built to code.


  5. NAHB Green


    The National Association of Home Builders offers NAHBGreen: a comprehensive set of educational resources, advocacy tools, standards and certification from a qualified independent third party. The group offers Certified Green Professional (CGP) and Master Certified Green Professional (MCGP) designations for home building professionals who have demonstrated expertise in green building.


  6. Forest Stewardship Council

    Forest Stewardship Council

    Lumber and wood products are certified by two primary agencies, the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) and the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI). Both of these agencies provide third-party certification that wood products come from forests that are managed and harvested in a sustainable way.


  7. For more...

  8. See the House of the Week


    Discover and admire beautiful and innovative home architecture, from grand Victorians to quaint cabins and all the styles in between. Take a look at the latest images and inspiration!