Latest Discussions : Flooring & Stairs

chevylover1988

03:40PM | 07/07/09
Member Since: 07/06/09
3 lifetime posts
We purchased a laminate floor from Lumber Liquidators and paid for their installers to put it in. The installers came and said they were unable to use the flooring since it was defective. They called the store and we had to return the defective flooring. On

the recommendation of their installer we bought a more expensive engineered floor (Schon). We picked up the new floor and noticed that the boxes looked in poor condition. We asked the manager to come out and look. He did a quick look and said it was OK, that it had come from another store. When we got home we opened one box (it was partially open) and noticed that the flooring was curved. We called Lumber Liquidators and they said it had to acclimate. 5 days later it was still curved (3" off the ground on each side) Now they want a 20% restocking fee if we return it and they said that the schon floor we bought is no longer available. 20%for another defecive floor. BEWARE OF LUMBER LIQUIDATORS

bpullin8864

05:53AM | 07/08/09
Member Since: 10/28/08
6 lifetime posts
We stand behind our products and if there's a quality issue with any products received, LLI will take the product back and swap it out for any product of equal value. A re-stock fee would not be charged if the product has a defect.

Customer Care's 800 number is found on every invoice ready to assist any customer not satisfied with the local stores actions to remedy any situation involving our products or actions taken by the store. Our goal is customer satisfaction offering great products at low prices. I would encourage any customer with a negative experience to call Customer Care at 800-366-4204. We have qualified associates on hand to assist customer 7 days a week.

chevylover1988

07:54AM | 07/08/09
Member Since: 07/06/09
3 lifetime posts
So al know, we have spoken with customer care representatives from Lumber Liquidators. They told us that they will make a determination if the flooring is defective when they receive a sample of the floor from the Clayton, Delaware store. Unfortunately, we have the floor in our home...I do not know what kind of sample the Clayton Delaware store will send, but I know it will not be from the flooring they sold us Please realize THEIR installer said it was defective and that if it did not acclimate in 3-4 days, we should take it back. This is the second floor we bought from this store! The first one was also defective and their installers could not put it down. They suggested we buy a better floor, which we stupidly did. Their customer care is a joke just like the curved flooring they sold us. We are returning it but we will take them to small claims court.

chevylover1988

05:09AM | 07/09/09
Member Since: 07/06/09
3 lifetime posts
To let you know, upon the advice of our attorney we returned the defective flooring to Lumber Liquidators in Clayton, Delaware yesterday. We spoke to the assistant manager who told us he could not determine if the flooring was defective. He had to send it to the main office for their determination We were charged 20% restocking fee, even though several people in the store snickered when we put the flooring piece down on the floor. It was obviously curved, about 3" off the ground on both ends. Steve also said that the first floor we had returned upon their installers claim that they could not put it down was really fine. He said it was the installers who were at fault. (We had seen the chipping that occurred when they had tried to install it) It is obvious that this company has betrayed our trust in them. We will await their determination before we move forward. The cost to us is much greater than the 20%. We had to return heavy flooring twice. Then to be treated so shabbily is disgraceful.

bpullin8864

08:14AM | 07/09/09
Member Since: 10/28/08
6 lifetime posts
As the CC Mgr for LLI it appears your situation is not following standard protocol and your experience is far from typical. May I suggest a call to Customer Care asking the first associate answering the line to direct your call to my attention for service. If warranted, we will return your re-stock fee while looking into other possibilities correcting the problem. Validating a defect is a must and warping and other issues can occur from storage and excessive moisture, so we look into these matters carefully before making a final decision. Use the "Contact Us" page on our website if needed. Warping out of the box is not a manufacturing problem, rather indicates some other issue has occured. We're here to help

jonny5buck

07:11AM | 07/13/09
Member Since: 06/14/09
10 lifetime posts
As an installer i feel compelled to chime in here.Any laminate that is curved as you stated, has 99% of the time been subject to HIGH HUMIDITY,probably at the warehouse.You w/need to have 90% humidity outside,all the windows open,and 6 inches of standing water in the basement to get those results in a residential setting!I too have run into prob./ w laminate ,but not to that degree.I have had to return product to menards there 'UNI-LOCK'laminate had tounge side way too small to lock into the next piece,they refunded the dif. and homeowner purchased upgrade w/NO re-stocking fee,installation went fine then,helps to have an installer there to verify whats wrong,still try working with the distributor,sounds like they w/make right...good luck!

jonny5buck

07:25AM | 07/13/09
Member Since: 06/14/09
10 lifetime posts
one more thing,you will eventually run into problems with products,it happens.I installed over a thousand feet of 'bella hardwood' in homeowners home.In the last hallway we ran into a problem,boards wouldn't go together!After 30 minutes of struggling,when i held the pieces up at eye level the tounge side was way off from the groove side...bigtime.One call to bella, and the problem was corrected! They make a great product..period...i would recommend...point is sometimes problems arise, it can happen to any manufacturer....it's simply how they correct the problem...most will correct the problem...if your manufacturer has shoddy customer service....i agree with your next avenue to correct the problem...someone has to make it right.

wjpapa

07:47AM | 02/08/10
Member Since: 02/07/10
1 lifetime posts
Hey, at least they let you take it back! We went to Lumber Liquidators to buy a laminate floor for our income property. We gave them the dimensions of the room and they told us we'd need 16 boxes of flooring, but also told us that they do not take returns - even on full, unopened boxes of stuff they stock! Based on that info, I told them to only give me 15 boxes and we'd come back if we needed more. Well, we only needed 13-1/2 boxes, so I have a full box that I'm now stuck with that we can't return. When I asked them why they wouldn't take it back, their only reply was "it is our company policy". This was not a sale or closeout item. So basically, they sell at a lower price, but then bump up the amount you need so they make up the money that way. So, if you go there, buy 2 or 3 boxes LESS than what they tell you. As for me, they lost a customer for a $35 box of flooring because I'll never go back there!

jonny5buck

10:01AM | 02/08/10
Member Since: 06/14/09
10 lifetime posts
Im not familiar with lumber liquidators personally.I have never purchased products directly from them in other words.It is up to the customer to ask questions when it comes to returns,each place may be different.As far as the amount of laminate,i would always like at least one full box extra per job.This would be for any repair in the future or a reference ex. sku3lot# etc. color for if additional work will be done.As an installer that one box is always needed for chipped corners or defects /same thing with hardwood.It pays to have an installer measure and install 90% of the time.Store policy is store policy,regardless.

magicmona09

10:42PM | 04/03/10
Member Since: 04/03/10
1 lifetime posts
Thank you so much for the heads up! :)

floorguyohio

03:34AM | 05/31/10
Member Since: 05/30/10
1 lifetime posts
Lumber Liquidators in general has there own list of issues to deal with in regards to being a company that deals in material sales. In my opinion they have a great selection of good material at goos prices. As far as there affiliation with HSS to handle there installations, this is where they realy have droped the ball. HSS claims to have certified people installing for them. There certification process is that you must have a decent credit record and insurance, you need not have any product knowlage at all. They charge there installers 15% off the top of there estimate. They offer nothing to any one that works for them as far as support. it is up to the installer to give the estimate, do the install, collect payments, and cover all service issues. Wich in reality is the way it should be, but HSS has no place in it. They simply saw a way to make money and jumped in, and now they have run things into the ground. they need to be stopped. Lumber liquidators needs to fire HSS and get back to work on being "the friendly place to get a good deal"

bpullin8864

05:12AM | 06/02/10
Member Since: 10/28/08
6 lifetime posts
Thank you for your positive comments regarding Lumber Liquidators and our product lines and great prices. If you used the Home Service Store for installation services and had a negative experience we would suggest a call to them immediately using the number on your invoice. The quality of contracting work can vary from one contractor to another no matter what type of work is being performed, but they screen contractors and address customer concerns through their call center operations and will remove contractors found performing less than ideal quality installs. We've had numerous positive comments about their services as well and regret to hear you feel your experience was not up to par. If we can offer assistance, contact LL Customer Care and we can also provide assistance.

bpullin8864

05:20AM | 06/02/10
Member Since: 10/28/08
6 lifetime posts
No matter where you shop for flooring it's always highly recommended you retain no less than one box for repairs should you ever have a leak, or other unexpected problem with your flooring that requires repair. Trying to match up your product at a later time could be a problem if the product line changes. We clearly state terms at the time of the sale, so the idea that your were misled in any way is unfortunate. Laminates can be damaged without our knowledge so taking them back we could unknowingly pass on damaged material to another customer, so this is a quality control necessity and this is why our policy states we do not accept extra material back for laminates - Sorry = Read the invoice and measure carefully. Good to hear you had little waste as this means you installed it well - Kudos to you for a great install!

shuttlej

06:54AM | 06/29/10
Member Since: 10/26/08
3 lifetime posts
I pulled mine up threw it in the front yard where it is to this day. Anyone that ask about the pile of wood I tell them!!!

I would rather live with 3/4" plywood than have LL in my house.

Took me 2 years to save $3000.

What a disappointment.

shuttlej

09:27AM | 06/29/10
Member Since: 10/26/08
3 lifetime posts
$3000 later I have a pile of LL Bella Wood piled in my front yard, any one that stops and ask why I tell them why its there. I have 3/4" plywood in my house until I can save another $3000 for flooring from a reputable local flooring dealer. Rest assured it won't be flooring from LL or Bella Wood or under any other name associated with LL. I will do my research next time!!!!

I tried customer care and the BBB. Not much help! I had two building officials, several professional installers and all came to the same conclusion after seeing the product that the product I received warped and cupped was due to the manufacturer.

I also had one consultant that charged $300 and was recommended by LL. Of course his report was prepared to the benefit of LL.

RealtorSanDiego

06:37PM | 07/07/10
Member Since: 07/06/10
1 lifetime posts
I ordered 1800 SF of Brazilian Teak manufactured by Bellwood for Lumber Liquidators. What a nightmare! Several boxes arrived damaged upon delivery. The delivery person noted on the paperwork boxes were ripped open, damaged and discolored from other boxes. After not hearing from the store about the damaged boxes delivered I called the store directly and spoke with store manager Mike. I expressed my concerns and he assured me the boxes would be fine and I should have no worries about the installation of those boxes. When my installers arrived for the install (after the boxes had acclimated for three weeks) they too pointed out that several boxes looked beat up and odd. I told them I already called the store and they would be fine. They opened those three boxes along with seven others and sorted them by color variation, size, and proceeded with the install. After laying many of the boxes they expressed they were having constant issues with gaps in the boards. They pointed out that the boards had two separate kinds of milling and it was causing major problems. The problem was the actual width of boards were very different and so were the tongues. They suggested I contact the store and let them know so I can return them and reorder new boxes all from the same milling. I called the store and spoke to Ricky. He told me to bring in some sample boards.

The next day I brought in several boards demonstrating the boards varying width and completely different tongues. I could tell Mike the manager did not want to admit that they were from different mills but it was impossible to deny. He would just make comments like " a good installer would know how to deal with something like this" and "They can be altered by your installer to work" I pointed out that would cause additional labor I would have to pay for and I should not have to pay more money to deal with milling issues. He then said that he could send out his own installer (Brian). He said he would be able to make them work just fine. As I had nothing to lose I agreed.

Later that day a woman called and said she spoke to Mike and her company would come by to look at the floors. Several hour later a knock at my door and its a woman "Sarah" She said she was there to look that the floors. I told her I thought a Brian was coming to look at them as he is the installer. She said she was his wife. I showed her the boards and how they were all different. She just seemed oddly quiet. She obviously knew they were messed up but didn't want to say anything other than "don't worry we can fix everything". I pointed out the many rows that would have to get ripped up. She said that the three boxes that were mixed up with the others could be dealt with by "sorting them back out and putting them in the same rows". That sounded fine but she said I would have to remove what was already laid down and also order replacement boxes. She also said they would only glue down the wood. I told her as long as the price was the same that would be fine. She said Mike the manager would probably replace the boxes that caused the issue. I told her I would speak to Mike and let her know. I showed her my current installer invoice (3.00 square foot) and told her as long as she matched that I would go with them. She said she would match my installers and email me the estimate.

The next day the email comes. Guess what? they wanted 2500 more than my current installers. Not only that the glue was an additional 1200 more. So they wanted 3700 more than my current installer!! She had the square footage at 3.00 but had the stairs priced out separately and also wanted 1,000 more to level the floors for glue down process. Obviously I was not going to go with them and she never said the glue material alone would cost so much! I called Mike and said Im just going to go with my installer and lm going to return the unopened boxes and reorder the same thing. I even agreed to upgrade the wood to 3/4 inch thick from 3/8 inch thick since they had the same teak in a smaller width but for a similar price. He said to bring them in and I would reorder them.

After renting a uhual and breaking my back getting the boxes back to the store the manager said that I had ten boxes missing. I told him that three boxes had milling issues which screwed up the other 7 laid down. I told him about how I called when they arrived and was assured they were o.k. I explained yet again that those three boxes installed with the other 7 were mixed and rendered useless and they had to now get ripped up. Mike said he would only credit me for the three boxes that had the wrong milling. He did not want to recognize that those boxes caused the others to be useless.

Trying not to loss my cool I told him I wanted to focus on getting the replacement material (2 1/4 teak) that is listed on the website because its a a similar price. Guess What. The replacement material was not available. The only option he said I had was to pay for an even more expensive (3.25 teak). I told him I didn't even want that as I have a 1915 craftsman and I was not comfortable going with such a large width. Additionally that the cost was more more expensive price per square foot (3500 more!). I already was in the hole 7 boxes he would not credit, installation costs that were wasted, renting a truck for the return, and cost to rip out the crap that was down. Now he was telling me my only option was to pay 3500 more!!! It was obvious I was getting nowhere with him. He had no compassion to the situation and just seemed to generally not get how I was put in a situation not of my choosing. Lets not forget this entire nightmare was brought about by having different milling mixed in with my order. Since they no longer had any replacement material at similar cost ( 2 1/4) . Even though the website says the do. I requested to just have the unopened boxes I just returned credited to my card. I said I would have to eat the 7 boxes and just order them somewhere else since the only option extended to me was to buy more expensive teak. This SOB had the nerve to tell me that he would "not give me my money back" . He said he "was not convinced it was a milling issue" Are you freaking kidding me!!!!! I was just speechless. To think I would have to take the hit on all of this. Its like I had a gun to my head. I told him I since I was left with no alternative I had no choice but to pay an additional 3500.00 and order the teak in 3.25.

I left the store feeling sick to my stomach. Like I had been mugged. Its just sad when you feel so completely taken advantage of and have absolutely no power to make the store take responsibility. All I can do is share my story and let others know of my horrible experience. Hopefully it will make you reconsider and purchase elsewhere. As a realtor I am constantly asked for referrals on everything from kitchen cabinets to floors. I used to always recommend Loews or Home Depot as they guarantee the work and generally my clients were very happy withe them. Looks like I should have taken my own advice. I only went with Lumber Liquidators because the teak they had looked so nice in the store. I will let every client know my experience at Lumber Liquidators. Word of mouth is a powerful thing.

I will let you guys know how the final install goes when the new material arrives.

jonny5buck

07:24AM | 07/08/10
Member Since: 06/14/09
10 lifetime posts
Wow sounds like a nightmare.First off let me say i have installed miles of laminates and wood.Secondly i have had an issue in the past with ''bellawood'' and the tongue and groove mismatch with a 3/4 wood,that was purchased by the homeowner from bella direct.After concluding the fault lied with the mill or bella because the groove was different dimensions,and the tongue side also we recieved new material that installed beautifuly.The total footage was around 1100 sq. ft and only 2 or 3 boxes contained defective material.

The fact that lumber liq. would not acknowledge the defect is senseless.Installers are your last line of defense with a defective product,we see the problem,and usually it halts all work.LL -no return policy on laminates is stupid to say the least,have extra material? you should be allowed to take it back for a refund[if un-opened packaages] ALL other stores give a refund,what does that tell ya?Sorry to hear about your ''runaround with LL- I have never dealt with them for material,and it sounds like they are shady,and deal with inferior products,if bella is at fault,than LL should stand behind you and get some dang answers from them!!! If they sold defective product the least they should have done was ACKNOWLEDGE IT! and get you the corrected material to finish the job.

I have installed all types of flooring for over 20 yrs, and let me tell you- an installer never forgets bad product,it makes our job difficult,and puts us in a situation that usually leads to an unfinished job,headaches,and waiting to complete our work.I empathise with your troubles,and it sounds like LL is losing credibilaty FAST!

ewigginton

08:09AM | 09/02/10
Member Since: 09/01/10
1 lifetime posts
I'm so glad I found these reviews! I was just about to place an order for flooring for our new home. $18K worth...but after reading these comments and they way the complainants were treated I'm going local.

Companies with such poor ways of handling things will eventually do one of two things. Get their act together OR go out of business. With LL being a publicly held company, the best way to get their attention is the lack of dollars. I'm taking my dollars elsewhere.

aname

11:02PM | 07/19/11
Member Since: 07/19/11
1 lifetime posts
I would like to know anyone's experience in small claims court with Lumber Liquidator's. Thanks

BV001119

03:25PM | 05/23/13
The HSS store has blamed the installer. Parts of the Bella wood has lost it finish. The moisture was checked and is not to blame.

How can they hold the installer for a defect in the wood?

Do your self a favor and keep away from Lumber Liquidators, the installers they recommend come from the HSS store.

The installer was fine but the HHS store wants him to pick up the cost for the reinstall and material needed for a product that is guaranteed for life.

Terrible service by LL and HSS. Beware!

BV002045

07:07AM | 09/09/13
I purchased all my flooring and supplies from lumber liquidators and was going to use someone a friend recommended to me, but I could get a definite price from this guy because if the unknown additional price to pulling up my kitchen hardwood flooring which was going to cost me anywhere between $300 -$600. Lumber Liquidators, L.L. told me I would benefit using their installers as i was purchasing my flooring from them and any problems would be fixed faster. The charge would be $25.09 and I would pay this installer when he came out to give me the estimate, and I would get this credited back to me if I decided to use their flooring guys. I set-up this appointment by phone and to my knowledge who ever picked I do not recall them saying, Home Service Store, Inc., nor HSS. The owner of J. L Flooring came out and measured and gave me a rough estimate, but did not ask this deposit, although i mentioned to him ro not let me forget to pay him the fee of $25. he gave me around about cost and has as far as the kitchen floor was concerned there was no addition charge, as I pulled up some if the wood flooring myself, while he was here and it was sitting on vinyl and was not glued to the cement. A few weeks later the date was set. Delivery on July 31st and insulation would start on August the 7th. The flooring was delivered on a Wednesday morning around 10:00am by this flooring company and it was all stacked up to around 4 ft tall. This guy then told me he had cancellations the rest if the week and could start the installation in the morning. That was a huge red flag for me and I laughed and said all he and Lumber liquidators had repeatedly rold me was the flooring had to acclimate to my home, and sure i let him install it, but only if he writes in the invoice the day and time he delivered it and that he would be installing it tomorrow. He then said let's wait until Friday. He then said I needed to pay 10% down, yet when I handed him my card he wouldn't take it and told me once he got a person in the phone he would then give me the phone to give my credit card information to. As this man was leaving i walked him out through my gargage and asked him if all my misc. supplies were there and he assured me they were all there.
I'm really upset because I now don't trust this guy. To be continued tomorrow

baysbet

05:34PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Not surprised whatsoever that I found a bunch of complaints about Lumber Liquidators on this site. Bob, you really need to stop endorsing them! Although they may have great prices they treat their customers like dirt. I went in this past few weeks and explained in detail that although I wanted real hardwood I did not want to pay a lot because I am selling the property and we are retired on limited funds. Wrong thing to say the truth because I got the cold shoulder the rest of the way because my project was not big enough to bother with. I purchased and still have over $600 worth of flooring. I ordered a stair nose piece which was not ordered although it was discussed extensively with the asst. manager so I waited another week for that to come in. I was told that since I purchased a click floor which I specifically wanted the installation would be $2 a sq. ft. I was not initially told about the additional charges of $50 per room, $10 per threshold, per-per-per, etc. which brought the $160 installation cost to $307. Still wanted to go thru with it although I was wronged. Very bad communication, had to call them repeatedly to get the estimator to come out. When he did he also gave me the estimate at $2 a sq. ft. to install. When I called once again to get the installation date a week later the installer told me this floor was a glue/nail down and I was confused about the installation cost. I then called the store manager who took his time calling me back because his bathroom habits took priority which was a final slap in the face and it was only to inform me that there was a confusion about the installation and it apparently was on my part. This was a very bad experience from the word go. At this point I do not know what to do. But please learn from my experience because you will probably get the same treatment unless you have 5000+ sq ft. to install. Customer care sent me a survey in response to my complaint and told me the company has "unheard of service" and my complaint was an isolated instance. But they also did not know who owned the company and who I could send a complaint email to. I have only to wonder what "heard of service" is because I am not getting either. I am so very sorry I started this whole project.

baysbet

05:43PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Not surprised whatsoever that I found a bunch of complaints about Lumber Liquidators on this site. Bob, you really need to stop endorsing them! Although they may have great prices they treat their customers like dirt. I went in this past few weeks and explained in detail that although I wanted real hardwood I did not want to pay a lot because I am selling the property and we are retired on limited funds. Wrong thing to say the truth because I got the cold shoulder the rest of the way because my project was not big enough to bother with. I purchased and still have over $600 worth of flooring. I ordered a stair nose piece which was not ordered although it was discussed extensively with the asst. manager so I waited another week for that to come in. I was told that since I purchased a click floor which I specifically wanted the installation would be $2 a sq. ft. I was not initially told about the additional charges of $50 per room, $10 per threshold, per-per-per, etc. which brought the $160 installation cost to $307. Still wanted to go thru with it although I was wronged. Very bad communication, had to call them repeatedly to get the estimator to come out. When he did he also gave me the estimate at $2 a sq. ft. to install. When I called once again to get the installation date a week later the installer told me this floor was a glue/nail down and I was confused about the installation cost. I then called the store manager who took his time calling me back because his bathroom habits took priority which was a final slap in the face and it was only to inform me that there was a confusion about the installation and it apparently was on my part. This was a very bad experience from the word go. At this point I do not know what to do. But please learn from my experience because you will probably get the same treatment unless you have 5000+ sq ft. to install. Customer care sent me a survey in response to my complaint and told me the company has "unheard of service" and my complaint was an isolated instance. But they also did not know who owned the company and who I could send a complaint email to. I have only to wonder what "heard of service" is because I am not getting either. I am so very sorry I started this whole project.

baysbet

05:46PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Not surprised whatsoever that I found a bunch of complaints about Lumber Liquidators. Bob, you really need to stop endorsing them! Although they may have great prices they treat their customers like dirt. I went in this past few weeks and explained in detail that although I wanted real hardwood I did not want to pay a lot because I am selling the property and we are retired on limited funds. Wrong thing to say the truth because I got the cold shoulder the rest of the way because my project was not big enough to bother with. I purchased and still have over $600 worth of flooring. I ordered a stair nose piece which was not ordered although it was discussed extensively with the asst. manager so I waited another week for that to come in. I was told that since I purchased a click floor which I specifically wanted the installation would be $2 a sq. ft. I was not initially told about the additional charges of $50 per room, $10 per threshold, per-per-per, etc. which brought the $160 installation cost to $307. Still wanted to go thru with it although I was wronged. Very bad communication, had to call them repeatedly to get the estimator to come out. When he did he also gave me the estimate at $2 a sq. ft. to install. When I called once again to get the installation date a week later the installer told me this floor was a glue/nail down and I was confused about the installation cost. I then called the store manager who took his time calling me back because his bathroom habits took priority which was a final slap in the face and it was only to inform me that there was a confusion about the installation and it apparently was on my part. This was a very bad experience from the word go. At this point I do not know what to do. But please learn from my experience because you will probably get the same treatment unless you have 5000+ sq ft. to install. Customer care sent me a survey in response to my complaint and told me the company has "unheard of service" and my complaint was an isolated instance. But they also did not know who owned the company and who I could send a complaint email to. I have only to wonder what "heard of service" and "unheard of service" is because I am not getting either. I am so very sorry I started this whole project.

baysbet

05:51PM | 09/16/13
Member Since: 09/16/13
5 lifetime posts
Anyone besides me having a problem with Lumber Liquidators recently? I tried to post but was blocked.

BV002233

09:18PM | 10/03/13
We purchased roughly 1,200 square feet of really affordable laminate and had it professionally installed. Within months of installation, we started to experience buckling in the material, creating trip hazards throughout the house. Unsure whether we had an installation or materials issue on our hands, we sought the assistance of Lumber Liquidators to get to the bottom of it. Our hope was that they'd send someone to our property to take a look at the floors. Instead, after weeks of dodging our emails and phone calls, we received a generic response indicating our warranty was void for any number of reasons and that the matter was closed. I'm preparing to dispute the charges on my credit card, to initiate contact with the better business bureau and potentially to sue them in small claims court. I don't know whether it's the cheap product or the installation that's caused the safety hazards we're dealing with in the house, but I do know that Lumber Liquidators doesn't care one way or the other. So what's their value proposition?

BV002419

11:13PM | 10/26/13
I am a flooring contractor with 25 yrs of experience and a good reputation. I called lumberliqudators ( huge mistake) looking for some install work . So they refered me to HSS for an interview over the phone and application for credit and license information. Fair enough gave them all the info, thought I was a shoe in with all my experience . Well this rep with no knowledge of hardwood floors calls me back and tells me my credit scores wernt good enough and they couldn't use me! Couldn't believe it , so I go online look them up to find they have all these negative comments about them ( wasn't really supprised) . Actually think they just used me . Gotta tell ya don't ever buy flooring from lumber liquidators there flooring us garbage and don't ever use there installers , there's a lot of quality flooring contractors out there and you should go to a carpet one dealer or someone reputable with a good rep.

BV002446

05:02AM | 10/30/13
They suck .Problem after problem. Denver co store.i will not recommend them to anyone.spent over 5k. And the manger clay is a joke.never returns your calls. I'm going to also turn them in to the BBB. Also.

BV002789

09:53AM | 12/13/13
BV needs to learn how to spell before he goes on rants on a website

BV002880

11:08PM | 12/29/13
Contact the Home Improvement Commission in your state.

BV003170

09:11AM | 02/03/14
Just received an extra box of flooring. Look how they shipped it! This company is a Joke!
New shipment

BV003194

06:50PM | 02/07/14
I am an independent installer and have installed a lot of wood floors. Most of the product is really good, but when we run into an issue we found the big box stores always made it right with the customer and us. Home Depot, Lowe's and Menards take care of their customers.

BV003243

05:20PM | 02/12/14
My parents and my sister both bought flooring from lumber liquidators. My parents flooring buckled within a few weeks! Of course LL did not stand by their produce or help them. My sister reacted to a chemical in the flooring she bought (morning star bamboo) with a rash, headache, tiredness and even passed out at one point. She is a single mother who saved for a long time and was installing it herself. After an interned search she found that other's have gotten sick from the same type of flooring. A doctor she works with told her that she could develop respiratory failure and she is moving herself and her children out of their home today. She now is going to have to pay someone else to pull them up and throw them away. She will be seeing her doctor tomorrow and talking to a lawyer. This company is as grimy as they come. I am also going to call the local news about this as they advertise heavily in our area. BV I cannot believe you would endorse such a company. How much are they paying you????

BV003243

05:24PM | 02/12/14
http://www.investopedia.com/stock-analysis/100213/shine-lumber-liquidators-ll.aspx
Check out this article as well. Apparently there are issues with them illegally importing wood from protected areas. Way to pick em Bob.

mdayne

12:08PM | 02/14/14
Member Since: 02/14/14
1 lifetime posts
This company sells an inferior product, hence the low prices. I installed bamboo floors in my house and within weeks they were buckling. I ended up replacing almost half the floor, what a pain. I contacted them, provided all the documentation they asked for and now four months later have yet to hear anything from them. I have called and left several messages, but get no response. This company just sucks and cares nothing for their customers or backing their product. Go to a reputable flooring company and spend more. You will be much happier in the end.

BV003471

10:00PM | 03/08/14
Most people are spot on with their problems. I've had luck going to smaller competitors in Texas:

Www.floorexpo.com
Www.finefloors.com
Www.monsterflooringsale.com

Dont get sick. Get a new floor.

BV005353

11:09PM | 08/14/14
The product they sell is garbage!!!! you get what you pay for!! The sales staff will lie to your face and most likely have no flooring installation experience. LL is the Walmart of flooring. Now they are being sued over their Garbage Chinese flooring....Looks good on you Lumber Liquidators!!!!

BV007166

05:12PM | 03/03/15
I had a very hard time with LL.
They would send out warped flooring and treat me like shit because I wouldn't let them leave it. Then I would have to wait for days to get more and it would be straight but split . and again I would have to not accept it send it back. when I call the Rep she I tell him I just needed simple Limited pine knots and I needed to put the wood on the ceiling. Not The floors, it would be very noticeable it was the making of the room and then they finally told me I needed to drive all the way to their location over a hundred miles both directions 50 each to pick my own number after I had already spent over $80,000 with them they told me to buy from someone else.

I would think that if somebody spending that kind of money and had another 20 to 30 thousand dollars to go but the sales rep to get off their butt and go out there and say let's send him this group of wood but I was told they don't have to leave their office I get what's laying out there that's why there are a liquidator

BV007742

09:51AM | 05/08/15
I just purchased and installed over $2000 of laminate flooring from them in Salisbury NC. They were having a 2 day sale, where the price for the flooring I purchased was reduced from $3.69 a square foot to $1.79 a square foot. Seems to me now that they have pulled laminate from the shelf "supposedly", they knew when they sold it to me and whoever else that they were selling it illegally. The boxes that I purchased do say on the side , California standards etc. for formaldehyde and made in China. Before I learned of the illegal activity of LL on the media, I noticed a funny smell and now can pinpoint it to the smell of when in high school dissecting a frog ( FORMALDEHYDE )! Also, since installing the flooring my children have been sneezing and have throat irritation.. I have emailed the CEO and have posted my comments on Social Media. If nothing is done and a response is not made from LL to me to handle their wrong doing, I will seek legal advice.

BV010809

07:22PM | 03/07/16
A couple of years ago, we purchased a new home with the expectations of installing some laminate in a small area. Between a few job changes and commuting 300 miles to work, we finally got around to doing the install, only to learn about the formaldehyde issue. After reviewing the online information we learned that our product purchased from LL was subject to the investigation.

As we have two young children, we immediately became concerned about installing the product, and I called the local store who said it was past the 30 days, even if I just wanted an exchange. I spoke with LL 800-number and was told there was no proof of formaldehyde being an issue, even though I ordered a free formaldehyde test kit from the LL website!

At this point, I am so annoyed with LL, that I won't step foot in another one of their stores as they seem to have a disregard for my children's health, nor will they stand behind their product! I will probably be forced to trash my purchase, as I must admit it still does give off a funny smell-- thank God we never installed it! I would think if it is so "safe" they would have no problem making an exchange for UNOPENED and UNUSED product given the circumstances!

Avoid this company, and buy a product not made in China!

BV011451

03:07PM | 04/29/16
After researching and asking questions, I purchased 40 boxes of the "Select Pewter Maple" and like the other reviewer, boxes are sitting in my living room since the storefront is refusing to take it back after playing a "run-out-the-clock" game that took 90 days, mentioning "90-days exchange" on the 88th day. After one morning's install, noticed that the flooring already had scratches and dents. Maple is supposed to be a little harder than oak. After calling LL Customer "Care", they admitted at the end of a 40-minute conversation that the maple is "red" maple. Researched further online, no one else carries this, only found "red maple" on Wikipedia who has a more comprehensive Janka scale. This wood rates 950 which is barely above Pine at 870 - this is not a hardwood - Run don't walk from this shady retailer.

BV013842

07:31PM | 05/08/17
We had floors installed 10 months ago and the seperation is so bad because boards were cut to short you can get 3 fingers in the hole. Call LL was told our lifetime warranty was no good due to when the installation was completed we gave the check to the installers who are contracted by lumber liquadator and not taken to the store. We did what we were told to do by the employees at LL when we went there and purchased the floor. So now we are stuck with bad floors and a contrator for LL that will mot return calls. The lady at LL was a nasty lady im looking at contacting my attorney about this.

BV016426

04:28PM | 05/24/18
In a nutshell...Stay away. I have spent countless hours and $8000 and still do not have an installation date 4 weeks after my measurement.

I did not buy a cheap floor, ....same crummy service though. Bait and switch on the the install price.


BV022489

05:32PM | 05/21/20
March of 2020 we purchased flooring and told the company policy was that they accept returns. Attempting to return 6 cases the employee said we would need to wait due to the virus. I inquired as to when that would be and I received no answer. I feel this is poor customer practice as my money is tied up. States are opening up and so does your policy. Your employees seem to be uninformed. I have more flooring to lay as well as people I know. At this point I can not recommend Lumber Liquidator as a source for flooring. Pam Castner- jpcastner2@yahoo.com

BV022824

06:36AM | 06/29/20
I paid over $1,000 for flooring in transitions for my small Florida room and my kitchen had it professionally installed when I came home I found effected a flooring it look like hundreds of thousands of pinholes through every third or fourth piece of the flooring for the back to Lumber Liquidators the manager there said that that was part of the flooring anyway fighting with for two months by phone I'm finally getting half that money back then I find out it's a store credit do you think I'm going to shop there again heck no so now I think I find myself a lawyer so now it's time to find a lawyer

BV023608

11:48AM | 10/17/20
Yes I have a complaint with Lumber Liquidators. I would not recommend them to my worst enemy. I had a Engineered Hardwood floor installed and I am still having problems with it. Partially my fault shortly after the floor was installed, my husband became ill and I had to put the floor on the back burner. My husband has passed on now and I would like to get this matter resolved, although they want me to pay $500.00 for labor plus the cost of the material. No wonder the CFO was only there a couple of years they have more complaints against them. I thought it was a reputable company, I guess I was wrong.


Post a reply as Anonymous

Photo must be in JPG, GIF or PNG format and less than 5MB.

Reply choose button

Anonymous

Post new button or Login button
Register